Do you know about the statuary framework for (EYFS) and how it relates to your child?

Do you know about the statuary framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)?

It’s a lengthy document created by the department for education setting the standards for learning, development and care for children from birth to five. We’ve broken it down into a bitesize chunk to show why our Mini Monster Boxes can be a fantastic way to help your child’s development.

The EYFS sets out seven areas of learning and development. All these areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected.

However there are three areas that are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are:

• communication and language

• physical development

• personal, social and emotional development

With the other four being • literacy • mathematics • understanding the world • expressive arts and design.

Mini Monsters Boxes focus on the first three prime areas but also includes aspects of the others. So let’s go into a little more depth on what each of the three prime areas mean.

Communication and language:

Listening and attention: children listen attentively in a range of situations. They listen to stories, accurately anticipating key events and respond to what they hear with relevant comments, questions or actions. They give their attention to what others say and respond appropriately, while engaged in another activity. This is why we theme our boxes with stories to follow on each task card. It allows your Mini Monster to get into character and become part of the story.

Physical development:

Moving and handling: children show good control and co-ordination in large and small movements. They move confidently in a range of ways, safely negotiating space. They handle equipment and tools effectively, including pencils for writing. All our boxes include at least one task which focuses on fine motor skills. For example in box two, ‘visiting the zoo’, children use the crocodile tweezers to carefully pick up the lion’s food. These skills help with your child’s writing developing the muscles in the fingers and hands to help grip a pencil.

Every box also has tasks that focus on gross motor skills developing the ABC’s- agility balance and coordination. For example in box three ‘superhero’s’ Mini Monsters have to complete supper hero training combining throwing, dodging, running, crawling and jumping skills

Personal, social and emotional development:

Self-confidence and self-awareness: children are confident to try new activities, and say why they like some activities more than others. We want children to develop resilience and confidence with every box they try. All Mini Monster tasks can be differentiated to make the task easier or harder with clear progressions once it has been completed. This develops self confidence, self-esteem and builds character.

Every child deserves the best possible start in life and the support that enables them to fulfil their potential. Children develop quickly in the early years and a child’s experiences between birth and age five have a major impact on their future life chances. A secure, safe and happy childhood is important in its own right. Good parenting and high quality early learning together provide the foundation children need to make the most of their abilities and talents as they grow up.

We are here to support parents through this stage, supporting your child’s development.

For full details on the Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage follow the link:

23 views0 comments